top of page

Multiplatform Game Programming Elective Module

The GATE elective module has allowed me to learn about areas that would normally not be covered in day to day curriculum. Being someone who likes playing computer games, the game programming module really appealed to me, which allowed me to learn how to code my own games using Unity and C# and gave me some insight as to how the flash games I played online when I was younger were created. The module also imparted to me basic knowledge on coding syntax as well as the logic used in codes, allowing me to spend my Thursday afternoons in a useful, interesting and enjoyable way.

Written by Kho Tze Jit (16S7J)

I participated in the basic game programming elective conducted by Digipen Institute. Game programming was probably the last thing I would expect to have contact with as a biology student, so it was a very eye-opening experience. We had to piece together a simple 2D game mimicking classic flash games (eg. bricks breaking- and flappy bird- type), and although some parts were challenging as I had no background at all, it was enriching to learn about what happens behind-the-scenes of video games programming, the effort taken to create such works of art, and exposing myself to basic principles of game programming software. I enjoyed it thoroughly :)

Written by Kimberly Chun (16S7G)

Hwa Chong Institution

Gifted and Talented Education Programme

661, Bukit Timah Road

Singapore 269734

f

© HCI GATE (Updated Jan 2015).

bottom of page