top of page

Biology Elective Module

In the first session of my elective, we learnt about pharmacology research and had a glimpse into what a career in research was like. This affirmed my decision to take up a career in scientific research and received useful tips on how to prepare myself to enter the industry. We then learnt about birds and their adaptation to the environment in the second session through a lecture as well as some hands-on activities. In the final session, we explored histological methods and dissected a diseased mouse. To me, being given free rein to explore the mouse at my own pace was the highlight of the elective. We were challenged to dissect the mouse neatly, identify organs and carry out particularly delicate procedures during the dissection. It was a highly enjoyable time searching for the answers to my own questions about anatomy instead of being told in a didactic lecture style and this reminded me of the reason why I joined GATE - to learn science through discovery.


Hwa Chong Institution

Gifted and Talented Education Programme

661, Bukit Timah Road

Singapore 269734

f

© HCI GATE (Updated Jan 2015).

bottom of page